Freeman Honors Graduates at 2019 Diploma Ceremonies

Freeman School Graduation

The Freeman School awarded diplomas to nearly 1,000 degree candidates at its spring 2019 graduation ceremonies, which took place on May 17 in the Avron B. Fogelman Arena in Devlin Fieldhouse on Tulane’s uptown campus.

Kicking off the festivities at 10 a.m. was the Undergraduate Diploma Ceremony. Freeman School Dean Ira Solomon presided over the ceremony, and Brian Thrasher (BSM ’19) delivered the student address.

Margaret Palys

Margaret Palys

Margaret Palys (BSM ’19) received the BSM Scholastic Achievement Award, which recognizes the graduating Bachelor of Science in Management student with the highest cumulative grade point average, and Andrea Goldstein (BSM ’19) received the Evelyn and William Burkenroad Award, which is chosen by the senior class on the basis of scholarship, integrity, amiability and contributions to the professional, social and academic quality of the business program.

Goldstein, Malcolm Grba (BSM ’19), Max Meyer (BSM ’19) and William Wei (BSM/MACCT ’19) received the Tulane 34 Award, which is presented annually to 34 graduates from all Tulane University schools and colleges in recognition of exceptional academic achievements, student leadership and community service, underscoring the significance and breadth of citizenship and public service woven into
academic life at Tulane.

Michael Osborn (BSM/MACCT ’19) received the Tulane Association of Business Alumni Award, which honors a graduating student who displays exceptional intellectual ability, leadership, self-motivation and a sense of responsibility to peers, the school and the community. Rebecca Evans (BSM ’19), Jack Piermarini (BSM ’19) and Jordan Roodman (BSM ’19) received the TABA Community Service Award, which recognizes graduates who have completed at least 25 hours of pro bono service with a disadvantaged or not-for-profit business in the New Orleans area.

The Dean’s Service Award was presented to Jordan Margolin (BSM/MACCT ’19), Max Meyer, Robert Meyer (BSM ’19), Rachael Nichols (BSM ’19), Allie Pietrobono (BSM ’19), Erin Reed (BSM ’19), Marisa Ricottone (BSM ’19), Roodman, Kelsey Stevenson (BSM ’19)
and Thrasher.

“I wish you the very best in all of your personal endeavors,” Dean Solomon told graduates at the conclusion of the ceremony. “We have spent the past four years together, and this is a bond that will forever join us. We look forward to following your careers and watching as you contribute to building a better world. Please remember to keep in touch so that we can celebrate what my colleagues and I are confident will be your many accomplishments and achievements.”

The ceremony ended with the Uptown Strutters Brass Band leading a New Orleans-style second line from the arena to the Goldring/Woldenberg Business Complex’s Marshall Family Commons for a reception honoring graduates. The Graduate Diploma Ceremony, which followed at 3 p.m., recognized graduates of the Freeman School’s master’s programs, including the Master of Accounting, Master of Business Administration, Master of Business Analytics, Master of Finance, Master of Global Management, Master of Management and Master of Management in Energy.

In his opening remarks, Dean Solomon encouraged graduates to combine purpose with passion. “Only in doing what you love and opening yourself up to many different possibilities will you find your passion and therefore your true purpose in life,” he said. “You only live once. Make it count!”

Khyati Rai

Khyati Rai

Khyati Rai (MBA ’19) received the Marta and Peter Bordeaux Scholastic Achievement Award, which recognizes the graduating MBA with the highest cumulative grade point average. Paul Faciane (MBA ’19) received the Roger L. Cornelius Award, which recognizes the graduating MBA who embodies the highest standards of business scholarship and leadership.

Four graduate students received the Tulane 34 Award: Neal Dixit (MBA/MD ’19), Analisa Leavoy (MBA ’19), Rai and Wei.

Claude Davis (MBA ’19) and Russell Klinegardner (MBA ’19) received the Allen R. Vorholt Memorial Award, which honors graduates of the executive MBA program who demonstrate leadership, scholarship, the ability to balance priorities and a strong sense of civic obligation.

The Dean’s Service Award was presented to Jose Alvarez (MFIN ’19), Anne Hatcher (MANA ’19), Ian Konrad (MBA ’19), Leavoy, Chuxuan Li (MFIN ’19), Kaylyn McElroy (MBA ’19), McKenzie Neely-Wright (MBA ’19), Rai, Savannah Asbury Summerlin Strachan (MFIN ’19),
Joseph Sturtz (MBA ’19) and Jie Zhou (MFIN ’19).

The Tulane Association of Business Alumni Award was presented to Celina Sokol (BSM/MACCT ’19), Diane Bowen (MBA ’19), Jarrett Hudek (MBA ’19), Madison Hurwitz (MBA ’19), Klinegardner, Brian Morin (MBA ’19), Loren Powers (MBA ’19), Rai, Natalie Phillips (MANA ’19), Michael Massengale (MFIN ’19), Azuka Onianwa (MFIN ’19), Oliver Lawrence (MMG ’19) and Markus Galvão de Melo Kemper (MME ’19).

The Uptown Strutters Brass Band brought this year’s ceremonies to a close with a second line from the arena to the Lavin-Bernick Center for a reception honoring this year’s graduates.

Previous post:

Next post: