Selected Faculty Awards and Honors

Jasmijn BolJASMIJN BOL’s manuscript “The Consultation Conundrum: Can You Be Collaborative and Promotable?,” co-authored with Justin Leiby and Margaret Shakell, received a 2022–23 Lybrand Award. The award recognizes exceptional contributions to Strategic Finance and Management Accounting Quarterly. Bol is the Francis Martin Chair in Business and PwC Professor of Accounting.

HUAIZHONG CHEN, professor of practice in management, received the 2023 Dean’s Excellence in Intellectual Contributions Award, which honors professors of practice and lecturers who have produced outstanding scholarly contributions.

STEPHANIE CHENG, assistant professor of accounting, received the 2023 Irving H. LaValle Research Award, which recognizes Freeman School professors for excellence and advancement of the highest standards of research.

PIERRE CONNER, professor of practice in management science and executive director of the Tulane Energy Institute, was selected as a 2023–24 Duren Professor by Newcomb-Tulane College. The Duren Professorship program supports faculty activities that enrich the scope of undergraduate education within the college. Conner was selected for his new undergraduate Risk Analytics course.

Paulo GoesPAULO GOES, dean and professor of management science, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of AACSB International, the global nonprofit association that connects educators, students and business to create the next generation of great leaders. The one-year appointment began in July 2023.

OLEG GREDIL, associate professor of finance, received the 2023 Erich Sternberg Award for Faculty Research, which recognizes Freeman School faculty members for significant contributions to their academic field of interest.

AMANDA HEITZ’s paper “Bank Monitoring with On-Site Inspections,” co-authored with Christopher Martin and Alexander Ufier, received the Eastern Finance Association’s 2023 Best Paper Award for Institutions and Markets, and the Financial Management Association’s 2022 Best Paper Award for Financial Markets & Institutions. Heitz is an assistant professor of finance.

DEEN KEMSLEY, associate professor of accounting, received the 2023 Dean’s Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award. The award is the Freeman School’s highest honor for graduate instruction.

EUGINA LEUNG’s article “Man Versus Machine: Resisting Automation in Identity-Based Consumer Behavior,” co-authored with Gabriele Paolacci and Stefano Puntoni, was selected as a finalist for the 2023 Weitz-Winer-O’Dell Award. Chosen by the Editorial Review Board of the Journal of Marketing Research, the award recognizes the JMR article published five years earlier that has made the most significant, long-term contribution to marketing theory, methodology and/or practice. Leung is an assistant professor of marketing.

Christine SmithCHRISTINE SMITH, senior professor of practice in accounting, received the 2023 Dean’s Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. The award is the Freeman School’s highest honor for undergraduate instruction.


Previous post:

Next post: